Browser disconnection during crawl in Browsertrix Cloud

Hi all, I’m very new to all this, so I hope this isn’t an obvious question:

I’ve just installed Browsertrix Cloud and started playing with it, using All projects | Hackaday.io as a test bed for learning the ropes. However, I’ve noticed a consistent drop in capture performance after a minute or so of running it. I thought this might be rate limiting, so I dropped to a single crawl (the options seem to be 1, 2, or 3) and added a 10 second delay time after behaviors before loading a new page. Still getting slow captures, and skipped pages. I reviewed the error log, and this is what it looks like. Any idea what might be going on? I can’t imagine I’m getting rate limited at 2 pages every 30 seconds…

1 Like

Not an obvious question! Doesn’t sound like a rate limiting issue…

I don’t think I’ve ever gotten the browser disconnected error which leads me to think this may be a problem with your setup? Are you running this locally or on cloud servers?

Hi Hank, thanks for the response.

I’m running this locally on my home computer. It’s pretty capable specs-wise, but I have to admit that I’m completely new to kubernetes. I don’t fully understand the how or why of assigning resources to individual “machines” or pods, or whatever fancy name kubernetes likes to use. Is it possible the VMs are to few? Or don’t have enough resources available to them?

(As a side note, Kubernetes is probably nice for developers and scaling, but for a regular joe, it’s kind of a nightmare to understand and configure. The front end is much, MUCH nicer to use than a command line though, so I’m willing to learn!)

The issue was likely the browser memory was configured too low, hence the browser crashes. Which version were you deploying?
We’ve made a lot of improvements here over last couple of weeks, you should try the latest 1.7.0 beta: Release Browsertrix Cloud 1.7.0 Beta 2 · webrecorder/browsertrix-cloud · GitHub