Warc file too large --- out of memory

Hello. I’m not a programmer, and so I’m not sure this forum is for me. I will explain my problem anyway.
I am trying to read some old Yahoo Group which was archived on Wayback Machine. I downloaded a large (>2gb) warc file from that site and loaded it on replayweb.page. Aside from taking forever to scroll down to near the part I wanted, the computer runs out of memory before I actually get to the exact point I wish, and I have to reload the page, losing all the progress I had made. I tried to convert the warc file to wacz (assuming that would solve this problem – would it?) using py-wacz, but, when I load the resulting wacz file on replayweb.page, no url is found (py-wacz produced warning/error messages in the process, which leads me to suspect the conversion was not successful).
I am grateful for any help on this. The warc file I am dealing with is the one which can be downloaded from the following url:

The command line I issued when trying to convert to the wacz format was:
wacz create -o myfile.wacz current.warc

Hi @pchameleon – thanks for finding and using the forum for your question!

I think that you were on the right track by creating a WACZ file for the WARC file, since that will index the WARC data (create a CDX file) which ReplayWebPage will use to find content.

However I downloaded the WARC file and on further inspection it looks like it is full of Resource records for JSON files that were collected somehow. Usually WARC files for web archives contain Response records that contain the HTTP responses from web servers, which can be replayed later by software like ReplayWebPage.